8 comments on “Traveling with Kids: Bracing for A Very Long Trip!

  1. Things that I find useful on ANY trip:

    *Pack several plastic grocery sacks for collecting trash throughout the flight. That way you can keep things clean without having to depend others.
    *I find it easiest to check bags when traveling with family. Then just bring a backpack and lunch box for carry-ons. Older children can carry their own small backpack.
    *Always pack a change of clothes for everyone, including underwear and socks. Also medicines such as Tylenol and allergy and cold relief. I like to bring a thermometer in case illness suddenly hits in flight. (The change of clothes can be useful in case of spills, vomit, or other accidents. Not to mention if the airline loses your bag, at least you have 1 change of clothes.)

  2. Hit Michaels for mess-free $1 crafts to stock up for the trip. Whatever electronic entertainment you have, be sure you have headsets for each person using them. Airlines require the use of headsets (or volume off), and even if they didn’t, it’s the considerate thing to do. Check with the airline about powerports if you’ll depend on them for powering your electronic devices. I know American Airlines has disable the powerports on the 767 and 757 aircraft at this time. Think about back up batteries.

  3. Hit Michaels for mess-free $1 crafts to stock up for the trip. Whatever electronic entertainment you have, be sure you have headsets for each person using them. Airlines require the use of headsets (or volume off), and even if they didn’t, it’s the considerate thing to do. Check with the airline about powerports if you’ll depend on them for powering your electronic devices. I know American Airlines has disabled the powerports on the 767 and 757 aircraft at this time. Think about back up batteries.

  4. Hi! Packing light can be somewhat of a joke when you have kids – or maybe it’s an art form that I have not yet perfected. I DO know that I always, always, always pack too much and regret it later when I’m juggling bags and baby and hubby.

    I will share the top 5 things I’ve learned on my travels, which have taken me around the world with my family:
    1 – Pack light. We already covered that. The best method I have for doing this is to lay every single thing out on the bed or floor and then edit from there. Usually when you look at it all at once, you can edit better.

    2 – Let your clothing work for you. And by this I mean wear cargo pants. That was the single smartest thing I’ve ever done was figure out I could stash passports, boarding passes, iPhone, snacks, hair ties and a small toy for my daughter right on my body. And they are comfy for travel, too.

    3 – Apps, apps, apps. With the tight spaces that traveling usually forces one into (cars, planes), apps allow you to play games or read news to distract or entertain you. I love my Wall Street Journal, BBC and NPR apps. They make me feel like a grown up.

    4 – Employ the 50 /50 rule: Half the time you deal with issues that arise (i.e. your children are having a boxing match halfway through your flight) and the other half, you deal with it. That way each of you is guaranteed a break at some point and you won’t be so resentful when you get to where you’re going!

    5 – And this last thing you simply cannot leave home without no matter what: Your sense of humor.

    I don’t have children your age, but one idea to keep them engaged is to encourage them to do their own travel documenting with a journal and / or camera. It seems like they might be of an age where they’d like to express their own perspective on traveling and it could be a fun thing for people to read on your blog later.

    Have fun and be safe!

    Abby

Leave a Reply

